Got a question? Call 1800 853 276   |   

ITIL® v3 was first released in 2007 and updated in 2011. ITIL v3 was the most comprehensive framework for the conception, design, development, delivery, and management of IT Services. The Foundation syllabus (course and exam) covered knowledge essential to anyone involved in the delivery of IT services, including both technical and business individuals. This way, everyone involved knew how important it was to collaborate and what it took to successfully deliver IT services to customers.

ITIL 4 leverages from the strong foundations of ITIL v3 knowledge that organisations now have well established and gives us a very mature understanding of what is needed to continually align digital services to changing business needs. With this understanding businesses can continually deliver valuable digital services that enable customers to successfully achieve their desired outcomes.

Now that the ITIL 4 publications, together with the respective syllabi and exams, have been completely launched, AXELOS announced the discontinuation schedule for the ITIL v3 certification scheme.

The Discontinuation Schedule

AXELOS has released the following dates for discontinuing ITIL v3 exams:

  • ITIL v3 Foundation (English) to be discontinued as of 1 July 2021

  • ITIL v3 Intermediates (English) to be discontinued as of 1 Jan 2022

  • ITIL 4 Managing Professional Transition examination (English) to be discontinued as of 1 July 2022

What does this mean?

This means that ITIL v3 exams will no longer be available after the dates mentioned above. Following AXELOS policy, training MUST also be discontinued and then just like a domino chain, supply of related materials and services will diminish until it disappears altogether.

How does this affect ITIL v3 Certification?

Individuals already certified in ITIL v3 will retain their certification (in ITIL v3).

Foundation level:

The demand for ITIL v3 Foundation has already declined while the demand for ITIL 4 Foundation continues to rise. Therefore, ITIL v3 Foundation courses are not appearing in public schedules, unless when specifically requested.

Intermediate level:

Professionals who want to obtain the relevant ITIL v3 knowledge at intermediate level, i.e. CSI, SO, RCV, OSA, SOA or PPO must do so, as soon as possible (refer to the schedule above).

Due to AXELOS policy, these courses MUST stop once the related exams are retired.

Note that there are no upgrade options at this level as the contents of ITIL 4 intermediate are very different from ITIL v3.

Expert level:

Many professionals have invested a significant amount of time, effort and money on their ITIL v3 certification aiming at the ITIL v3 Expert level, this investment may not be lost as there may be options to upgrade to the equivalent certification in ITIL 4, Managing Professional (MP). This is the only level of certification with a transition option to ITIL 4, see the scenarios below.

To take the ITIL 4 MP Transition exam, a candidate must:

  • Hold the ITIL v3 Expert certificate; or

  • Have a minimum of 17 credits from the ITIL v3 Foundation and Intermediate/Practitioner modules; and

  • Attended the ITIL 4 MP Transition five day course.

Download the full eBook Here.


To book a course, call 1800 853 276 or email [email protected].

Feature Articles

Our AIICT brand expands portfolio with ten new courses to help address ICT skills shortage
The Australian Institute of ICT (AIICT) has introduced a new series of industry certified bootcamp programs and nationally-recognised qualifications to meet the surging demand for skilled ICT professionals in Australia.  The bootcamps support the Morrison Government’s recently announced Digital Skills Organisation (DSO) pilot, which recognises the importance of non-accredited training to support the development of skills of the future workforce. The bootcamp programs run for six months and comprise of several vendor-specific certifications. The courses include ‘Cloud Computing Certified Professional’, ‘Certified Microsoft Full Stack Developer’, ‘Certified Artificial Intelligence Professional’, ‘Growth Marketing Professional’ and ‘Certified Project Management Professional’. The decision to introduce the bootcamps follows the VET sector’s increasing move away from nationally recognised qualifications to vendor-specific, industry-certified training. According to the National Centre for Vocational Education Research, preference for accredited training courses has declined steadily in recent years, with employers increasingly less satisfied that these courses provide their employees with the most relevant and important skills for their business. This has led many organisations to preference non-accredited training provided by private technology vendors such as Microsoft and AWS.