Got a question? Call 1800 853 276   |   

Part one: What’s new in ITIL 4?

Until 18th February 2019, when the ITIL 4 Foundation book is released to the public, instructors and professionals who have been involved in the update of ITIL 4, have signed a Non-Disclosure Agreement with AXELOS and cannot release information that has not already been released by AXELOS. However, the following public information may help bring some more clarity as to what is new in ITIL 4.

The difference between ITIL v3 and ITIL 4:

The outline of the Foundation course gives you some indication of what is NEW and what is the same.

  • Service Management: Key ConceptsValue and Value Co-Creation – NEWValue: Service, Products, and ResourcesService RelationshipsValue: Outcomes, Costs, and Risks

  • The Guiding Principles – NEWThe Seven Guiding Principles – NEWApplying the Guiding Principles – NEW

  • The Four Dimensions of Service Management – NEWOrganisations and People – NEWInformation and Technology – NEWPartners and Suppliers – NEWValue Streams and Processes – NEW

  • External Factors and Pestle Model – NEW

  • Service Value System – NEWOverview of Service Value System – NEWOverview of the Service Value Chain – NEW

  • Continual ImprovementIntroduction to Continual ImprovementThe Continual Improvement ModelRelationship between Continual Improvement and Guiding Principles – NEW

  • Overview of ITIL Practices (rather than processes) – NEWPurpose of ITIL Practices – NEWThe Continual Improvement PracticeThe Change Control PracticeThe Incident Management PracticeThe Problem Management PracticeThe Service Request Management PracticeThe Service Desk Practice

What has changed in the library?The certification designations give an indication of how the new library will look.See the new ITIL 4 Certification Path on our web site. At this stage, this is all the information AXELOS has released to training providers.

Part two: Assessment guide – Does your organisation need ITIL 4?

If you answer yes to any or most of these questions, then you are certainly operating a digital organisation and you need ITIL 4.

  • Do your customers interact with you electronically?

  • Have you adopted cloud services?

  • Have you subscribed to Anything as a Service (IaaS, PaaS, etc)?

  • Do you want to better leverage the data you hold in your organisation?

  • Is there any group in your organisation using Agile anything?

  • Do you have software developers in-house?

Case studies and additional information

Keep in mind that the ITIL 4 framework is brand new and is not specifically mentioned in existing white papers and case studies. However, wherever you see the word “governance” in these papers, it’s important to remember that ITIL is the framework we have been using and evolving for over 30 years to help us enable and satisfy governance.

ITIL 4 retains all the learnings of the past 30 years, including processes we are very familiar with, such as Incident Management and Release Management (for example), but adapts these to current practices, such as Agile, Lean and DevOps.

You will find supporting information in the papers below provided by AXELOS:

Part three: Examples of Digital Transformation from other organisations

ITIL 4 is not a new version; it is called ITIL 4 in reference to the 4th Industrial Revolution – The Digital Revolution, that leverages from the building blocks from the 3rd Revolution – The Technological Revolution. AXELOS considers ITIL 4 a new generation framework.

Here are some other articles that may help you put ITIL 4 in the context of the Digital Transformation that many organisations have already embraced.This is the best article if you have the patience to read it all:

Additional articles that may be of some value:

Part four: Courses to support the transformation

Feature Articles

Our AIICT brand expands portfolio with ten new courses to help address ICT skills shortage
The Australian Institute of ICT (AIICT) has introduced a new series of industry certified bootcamp programs and nationally-recognised qualifications to meet the surging demand for skilled ICT professionals in Australia.  The bootcamps support the Morrison Government’s recently announced Digital Skills Organisation (DSO) pilot, which recognises the importance of non-accredited training to support the development of skills of the future workforce. The bootcamp programs run for six months and comprise of several vendor-specific certifications. The courses include ‘Cloud Computing Certified Professional’, ‘Certified Microsoft Full Stack Developer’, ‘Certified Artificial Intelligence Professional’, ‘Growth Marketing Professional’ and ‘Certified Project Management Professional’. The decision to introduce the bootcamps follows the VET sector’s increasing move away from nationally recognised qualifications to vendor-specific, industry-certified training. According to the National Centre for Vocational Education Research, preference for accredited training courses has declined steadily in recent years, with employers increasingly less satisfied that these courses provide their employees with the most relevant and important skills for their business. This has led many organisations to preference non-accredited training provided by private technology vendors such as Microsoft and AWS.